Skip navigation
The Australian National University

All Events

Current and Upcoming Events

Oil and Water: Being Han in Xinjiang

Friday, June 24, 2016 - 10:00 - Friday, July 8, 2016 - 17:00

Oil and Water is the first book-length ethnographic study of Han in Xinjiang, China. By shifting focus to the lived experience of ordinary Han settlers, Oil and Water provides an entirely new perspective on Chinese nation-building in the twenty-...

THE FIRST YEAR:

Monday, June 27, 2016 - 12:00 - Saturday, July 9, 2016 - 17:00

PhD candidate Anne-Marie Jean; painter and lecturer at National Art School Rachel Fairfax; multi-media artist and Fulbright Scholar Janna van Hasselt and ANU alumni and painter Dionisia Salas, are all practicing artists who, in 2016, are mothers...

2/2016: Visual Arts Graduate Season

Thursday, June 30, 2016 - 10:30 - Saturday, July 9, 2016 - 17:00

Fiona (Qian) Peng | Doctor of Philosophy | Ceramics

Hsin-Yi (Julia) Yang | Doctor of Philosophy | Ceramics

Dan Stewart-Moore | Doctor of Philosophy | Sculpture

 

...

Short course: Portfolio preparation

Friday, July 22, 2016 - 18:30 - Friday, October 28, 2016 - 21:30

Each year the School's Workshops organise short courses, intensive summer and winter schools or master classes and term-long specific interest programs.

These courses are offered by the ...

Conference: Moving Image Cultures in Asian Art

Friday, August 26, 2016 - 18:00 - Sunday, August 28, 2016 - 17:00

Presented by the Australian Consortium on Asian Art, this conference addresses historical and contemporary manifestations of spatio-temporality in Asian art. It results from an understanding of sustained...

AAANZ Annual Conference: The Work of Art

Thursday, December 1, 2016 - 09:00 - Saturday, December 3, 2016 - 17:00

AAANZ annual conferences present opportunities to re-examine art history, art theory and studio practice and generate innovative perspectives on histories and cultural traditions. For this conference, based around the theme 'The Work of Art...

Previous Events

2/2016: Visual Arts Graduate Season

Thursday, June 16, 2016 - 09:00 - Saturday, June 25, 2016 - 17:00

Kelly Austin | Ceramics | Master of Philosophy

My work combines opposing wheel thrown forms; the vessel and non-vessel, the familiar and non-familiar, and the practical and abstract to extend the perception of three...

Printing Our World

Wednesday, June 15, 2016 - 17:30 - 19:00

Is 3D printing the future?

The ACT Chapters of Engineers Australia and the Australian Institute of Architects invites you to a social networking session where leading specialist Mike de Souza will discuss how 3D printing will...

Preserving Ostranenie

Tuesday, June 14, 2016 - 09:00 - Saturday, June 25, 2016 - 05:00

To be opened by Victoria Pearce, Director at Endangered Heritage.

 

Visiting Artists Exhibition Three

Thursday, June 2, 2016 - 10:30 - Friday, June 10, 2016 - 17:00

Mariana Ortega

Anatomy of the ideal woman

Wednesday, June 1, 2016 - 17:30 - 18:00

This performative work is about the body, consumption and Western social ideologies that make up the ideal women.

Graduate Student Conference II

Monday, May 30, 2016 - 09:00 - Tuesday, May 31, 2016 - 15:30

The ANU School of Art Graduate Student Conference II will take place on Monday 30 and Tuesday 31 May. 

The program includes fieldwork and conference presentations from students who have travelled within Australia and overseas, as well...

Margo Machida

Wednesday, May 25, 2016 - 13:15 - 14:00

Trans-Pacific Visions in Asian American Art
This talk focuses on the Asia Pacific region and selected works by contemporary U.S.-based Asian American artists that engage themes of trans-Pacific circulation and global...

Obnoxious Ladies in the Australian Landscape - exhibition floor talk

Thursday, May 19, 2016 - 13:15 - 14:00

Join Sabrina Baker, exhibition curator, and exhibitors (and SOA staff members) Jacqueline Bradley and Emma Beer for a floor talk of the exhibition Obnoxious Ladies in the Australian Landscape​. Come along and find out what makes...

Mariana Ortega

Wednesday, May 18, 2016 - 13:15 - 14:00
I see the process of weaving like the process of life. Even when you have a sketch, an idea of what you want, it changes and everything is developed on the fly. You cannot change your past, and when you weave you can´t undo a taken...

COVER TO COVER

Monday, May 16, 2016 - 12:00 - Saturday, May 28, 2016 - 17:00

The Book Studio presents Cover to Cover featuring visiting artist Guy Begbie

Guy Begbie is a UK based interdisciplinary artist. His artists books/book works are configured to be opened as freestanding structures that convey a sense of...

Updated: 27 June 2016/ Responsible Officer:  Head of Office / Page Contact:  Web Publisher